Skip to content

Are you making Swiss Dollars?

October 15, 2015

SwissDollarsGraphic

Have you ever heard of S.W.I.S.S. Dollars? It’s an acronym for Sales While I Sleep Soundly. And they are sweet dollars indeed! Every day I check my smart phone at some point in the morning and check to see if I made any of these. Some times yes, sometimes no. The most I’ve made in a night was $88 dollars. I thought that was a particularly good night. It almost made me want to crawl back in bed.

How do you make money while you sleep? You need systems in place. In my case I have digital products online that can sell 24 hours a day. Most of these are parked over at Graphic River (click here to check them out) People also can access my website (Tradigitalart.com) around the clock; It’s always work time somewhere. I’m glad to see views from different countries all over the world on my website. WordPress offers some great stats for authors as does Envato (the parent company of Graphic River).

How do I get in on some of this action? Start selling stuff online, things that create residual income. You do it once, then get paid for it again and again. Instead of selling a dress you could sell the pattern for making a dress. Instead of selling original art, you could sell prints. In my case instead of doing freelance art or design I create tools for other digital artists to use. Take what you know and find a way to package it to help other people realize their own goal. You are probably already an expert at something.

Where to Start? All the possibilities out there can be overwhelming. Ebay, Etsy, Amazon, Cafe press, Zazzle and may others. My first stab at this was a total failure. I mad a bunch of products with quirky illustrations over at Cafe Press and to my knowledge never sold one stinking thing. I can’t speak to all the markets out there, but if you are an artist or designer (visual, video, audio, coding, themes, 3D, photography) I’d try selling your stuff on Envato. Graphic River is my neck of the woods with them. Now my first attempts were rejected. I tried to sell some water color illustrations that I also had in my portfolio online. Turns out they don’t like to sell what you are already giving away for free. They also weren’t into that style. I switched to the digital style that I have used in my various jobs and bingo. So I’d say start with things similar to what you have already been paid to do.

So I made some products how do I get people there to buy them? Tell people about it. You can try posting it on twitter, Facebook, email, Instagram and other outlets, this helps some. But everybody has a limited web of people and they only want to hear so often about what you are selling especially if you are using your personal accounts and sharing with your friends. I recommend starting a blog and blogging about your topic, your new items, your process, etc. This will get your stuff found in the search engines to connect you to people all over the world 24 hours a day. Getting that first sale might be hard. Don’t give up. Try different types of items on different sites until you start to find a niche then get in there and stake your claim!

Now it’s time for me to get ready for bed. Tomorrow morning you know what I’ll be doing right?

You guessed it! Counting up my SWISS dollars. I hope you are or soon will be making them too.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 12, 2015 10:16 pm

    Learn more about passive income from Dan Miller! http://www.48days.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

